Thursday, May 26, 2016

Two May 2016 Justice grads awarded UAA Leadership Honors

L to r: Camilla Hussein-Scott and
Michael McGuffin with crimson
honor cords.
Two May 2016 Justice Center grads were awarded UAA Leadership Honors at commencement: Michael McGuffin, B.A. Justice/Legal Studies Minor '16; and Camilla Hussein-Scott, B.A. Justice Cum Laude/Legal Studies Minor '16.

UAA Leadership Honors are awarded to individuals upon graduation to recognize and honor their leadership contributions to the University of Alaska Anchorage and Anchorage community while maintaining academic excellence. L​eadership activities and involvement must promote individual and collective growth, demonstrate increased engagement with the community at UAA and beyond, and showcase commitment to citizenship. ​ Students are selected by the Leadership Honors Advisory Committee appointed by the Dean of Students.

Recipients of UAA Leadership Honors are commemorated at the spring Commencement ceremony, bestowed crimson honor cords, and receive a permanent notation in their academic transcript. In addition to acknowledgement at commencement, the 2015-1016 Leadership Honors recipients were recognized at a reception on April 28.