Thursday, April 21, 2016

Alpha Phi Sigma - national criminal justice honor society - inducts 16 new members in spring 2016

L to r: Newly inducted Alpha Phi Sigma members Allisa Nguyen, Brandi Cordero, Austin Otos, Stephanie Smith,
Alpha Phi Sigma faculty advisor Dr. Ryan Fortson, Jennifer Ham, Nathel Sims, and Sevy Sheppard. Not pictured: Jacqueline Hull, Jessica Leigh, Jessica Mannhardt, Case Mohr, Montana Nolan, Kelsey Smith, Jennifer Tillman, Kollin Wallace, and Weili Weng.
Sixteen Justice and Legal Studies majors were inducted as members of the Alpha Phi Sigma National Criminal Justice Honor Society, Omega Xi Chapter, on Tuesday, April 12, at the UAA/APU Consortium Library. Family and friends attended the ceremony, followed by a reception.

To be selected for this honor, each student had to maintain a 3.2 overall cumulative GPA and 3.2 GPA in their Justice or Legal Studies major. Alpha Phi Sigma recognizes academic excellence of undergraduate and graduate students of criminal justice.

Dr. Ryan Fortson, J.D., faculty advisor, moderated the ceremony.