Tuesday, January 18, 2011

Former Justice Center director and faculty honored by MSU School of Criminal Justice

Dr. Knowlton Johnson (left) and Dr. John Angell
Dr. John Angell, first dean of the UAA School of Justice (now the UAA Justice Center) and past director of the Justice Center, and Dr. Steven M. Edwards, former faculty member of the UAA School of Justice, were inducted into the Wall of Fame of the Michigan State University School of Criminal Justice.

Plaques were presented to the honorees at an awards banquet on November 5, 2010. The Wall of Fame honors the “best of the best” in the field of Criminal Justice.

Dr. Angell and Dr. Edwards were among the honorees interviewed for the event; video of the interviews can be seen on the MSU School of Criminal Justice homepage. Dr. Knowlton Johnson, also a former faculty member of the UAA School of Justice, was a 2009 Wall of Fame inductee.

Dr. Angell is currently serving on a Data Safety and Monitoring Board for the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The board is overseeing an NIH multi-year research effort related to substance abuse by Alaskan young people, especially in rural communities. His colleagues on the board include Dr. Kathy Graves, Director of Behavioral Health for the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium and Dr. Brian Saylor of the UAA Public Administration Department.

Dr. Steven M. Edwards with his Wall of Fame plaque.
A plaque was presented to each honoree
Dr. Edwards is now a Senior Policy Advisor in the Office of Policy Development for the Bureau of Justice (BJA) where he focuses on criminal justice policy training and technical assistance for law enforcement and public safety agencies.

The MSU School of Criminal Justice Wall of Fame Award is presented annually to a select group of alumni who have distinguished themselves by attaining the highest level of professional accomplishment while demonstrating strong personal integrity and character. The standards are extremely high and attract an impressive group of alumni nominations. The Wall of Fame has honored 52 alums since its inception in 2000, representing the "best of the best" in multiple disciplines in the field of Criminal Justice. The MSU School of Justice is the nation's oldest degree-granting criminal justice program.

Photos by Dr. Chris Smith, MSU School of Criminal Justice. Used with permission.